10 Things to Buy This Week

From skeleton hand hair clips to fancy water kettles. We’ve got you covered. 

E’s 5 Things

1. Skeleton Hand Hair Clips – For manic pixie dream-girl hair. I have two of these already, but two is not enough.

skeleton hair clips

Zooey Deschanel couldn’t pull these off.

2. Assorted set of queen greeting cards – From Rifle Paper Co. I want to send one of these cards to every lady I know, every day.

nerfertiti

Every lady deserves one of these.

3. High-Rise” by J.G. Ballard – I’ve been meaning to purchase this ever since it was recommended to me by a friend in Malaysia. It’s outside of the purview of what I’d normally read, but I trust him.

high rise

Being bold in our literary choices = being bold at life

4. Art by Jen Garrido – I read this recent interview with her and have been smitten ever since. Note that she maintains two artistic personas: her Jen Garrido stuff and its chic, younger sister line called Jenny Pennywood.

jen garrido

Our future office will be covered in Jen Garrido.

5. A camera strap from Gypsa’s Etsy store – I have been on the hunt for a new camera strap ever since the lilac one I bought (for a hefty RM 2) in Malaysia bit the dust. The straps from this well-curated Etsy shop seem durable and gorgeous.

camera strap

A lady doesn’t just carry her DSLR.

J’s 5 Things

1. Capresso teaC100 – With a name like that, you know this is a pretentious fucking water kettle. This thing has five different temperature settings (warming, green tea, white tea, oolong tea, and black tea) so that your water can be at the “optimal temperature to extract the best flavor” out of any tea that you desire.

teac100-1

Isn’t it glorious?

2. “Vampires in the Lemon Grove” by Karen Russell – E recommended this to me so how could I not want it? The story that hooked me from this collection, as retold by E, is one about a group of Japanese girls that turn into silkworms when trapped in a silk factory and plot a revolution. So basically feminist silkworms.

Buy it so we can start a Tonic book club.

Buy it. Then we can start a Tonic book club.

3. Olsenhaus Awake Flat with Third Eye – Olsenhaus makes vegan shoes that are decidedly unfrumpy and very well made; a rare combination in the vegan shoe world. Also, I like that these flats are kind of creepy.

Look it in the eye.

Look it in the eye.

4. Comptoir des Cotonniers Black Jacquard Dress – Comptoir dresses are my go-to if I am stuck on something to wear for the day. Their prices can be steep, but they’re currently having an amazing winter sale so act fast. I’ve also had a lot of luck buying their clothes on eBay if you’re up for a bit of sleuthing.

The jaunty hair pairing is optional.

The jaunty hat pairing is optional.

5. Tofu Press/Marinating Dish – If you’ve ever tried to press tofu without a tofu press, then you’re familiar with the struggle. In my experience, it involves several hours of delicate book-on-plate balancing and far too many paper towels. This one is also good for pressing liquid out of vegetables and it comes with a marinating dish. Tofu is pretty lame without some kind of marinade or dressing so that seems a rather critical addition to the appliance.

I'm certain that owning this thing would change my life for the better.

I’m certain that owning this thing would change my life for the better.

xox E & J

Leave a Reply

