Tonic’s Weekly Lynx Round-up

A list of links to help you work, think, and be grateful. And also puppies.

My friend Rachel (who I’m convinced is secretly a superhero), sent me this thoughtful article on the concept of queer families.

Have a full-on Charlotte York moment with this gallery of the most adorable canines from last week’s Westminster Dog Show.

Curious what goes down when Patti Smith interviews Kristen Stewart? I was too.

Nylons’s tribute to the late Lesley Gore (the protofeminist and voice behind the 60s super-hit “You Don’t Own Me”) is completely fitting.

How tea is prepared in 22 different countries.

Would you consider a doula when giving birth?

In honor of John Stewart’s departure, the most hilarious feminist moments of the Daily Show.

For the bashful violets among us, designer Rebecca Evie Lynch has created emojis for intoverts.

Learn from the girls of Broad City how to work with your best friend without killing one another. This is also something we know a little bit about at The Tonic.

Remember not to take all your vinyl for granted with Wondering Sound’s list of the 10 best albums that never existed.

And I know it’s already all over the internet, but I’d still like to note that Oliver Sacks’ recent essay in the NY Times is beautiful, and poignant. The passage that stayed with me the most is this one:

There is no time for anything inessential. I must focus on myself, my work and my friends. I shall no longer look at “NewsHour” every night. I shall no longer pay any attention to politics or arguments about global warming.

This is not indifference but detachment — I still care deeply about the Middle East, about global warming, about growing inequality, but these are no longer my business; they belong to the future. I rejoice when I meet gifted young people — even the one who biopsied and diagnosed my metastases. I feel the future is in good hands.

Stay warm this weekend, beautiful bunnies.

xox E

Leave a Reply

