Ten Things to Buy This Week: Spring Crop Top Edition

Your midriff and your paramours will thank you. 

56a4d6b8373b02021aba072b12dadbd5

Midriff-baring angels unite.

I’m going to come right out and state that my crop top game has been on fleek of late. In an act of considerable charity, I have decided to curate a selection of spring crop tops to share.

Before you peruse, realize this is not a list for rookies– I’m writing with the assumption that you’ve got the basic black long-sleeve and all other essential varietals. The choices below are for the serious ladies among us looking to operate on the next level of midriff-baring sensuality. It is not our first rodeo.

Godspeed friends.

Spring 2015 Selections for Crop TOp Veterans:

This divine piece from Free People comes in every color you’d want (I mean it– I wish the world could be recast in these hues only). While my coloring lends itself to the eggplant shade below, I strongly suggest you consider the mint, and the cranberry.

f05c02dee1356f3d1406c4217b921bce


Though my dalliance with ballet ended in fall 2012, my dalliance with ballet-inspired apparel is still going strong. Be like Natalie Portman in Black Swan minus the sloppy mental unwieldiness as you cavort through spring in this tasteful wrapped crop top.

f34ad890e6c79562585d1c4e4bf4bbdf


Velvet crop tops = Tonic cocaine. There is not much I wouldn’t do to own the sensual gem below. Though if it was to ever actually grace my closet, I don’t think I’d allow it out of the house.**

8a167b9eab89fd62bdd6f6956f08b4ac


One of the central joys of crop tops is that they blur the lines between lingerie and street-wear. Continue the blur by flummoxing everyone in this risque lace-up situation.

56a4d6b8373b02021aba072b12dadbd5


The option below reminds me of the work of Mary Blair, aka the genius behind the concept art for Disney’s Alice in Wonderland, Peter Pan, and Cinderella (if you’ve ever been on the “It’s a Small World ” ride in the Magic Kingdom, you’ve also seen her design skills). To me, wearing this crop top is almost as good as Mary Blair actually drawing crop tops on Wendy, Alice, and Cinderella.

a07baaccaa2b275fca26065696908032


Before crop tops en masse became a trend, I had a habit of buying threadbare tees and knotting them just above my navel. Now that pieces like the one below exist, I no longer have to do the hard work myself, which leaves me more time to work on my art and is therefore fabulous. Also, if I wanted to look straight-up sultry while working out, I’d fully be sporting this sassy homage to athleticism.

b7663ff50c8534e108d1cbfaadd87821


While people expect crop tops to be steamy slices of heaven, they don’t often expect them to be overtly weird. Subvert expectation by sporting this questionable eyeball. Don’t make eye contact and keep accessories minimal for a maximally bizarre effect.

dd7d2bda043e3a7934b7b62a1786bc63


Remember when you were wondering what you were going to wear to that summer music festival/tantric yoga class/star-gazing date with no threat of mosquitoes? The sub-theme here is that you will wear this tasteful bohemian number when you want to look awesome.
ad88b7a9557b1279802fbcbc0b5431cc


Though they can feel a little Baby Spice if not styled correctly, I remain a staunch defender of off-the shoulder varietals, and would argue it’s a test of your stylistic prowess whether or not you allow a top like the one below to veer into Emma Bunton territory. If you’ve made it this far into my list, know that I believe in you.

de82013d3a84d5956dce797922b270af


J and I have often lamented the fact that there are certain (beautiful) pieces that simply don’t work with our physiology. The striped crop top below is one such piece–while it wouldn’t work on me, I pine for a Francoise-Hardy type with carefree chestnut hair to wear this while strumming her guitar barefoot in a park. Addition of hot French boyfriend is optional but recommended.

47624f6f4c71d6051838d99c92697b63


Bonus: Cat Crops

In case you forgot that crop tops are first and foremost here to make us happy and appeal to our inner feline/lioness power.

6b7cb7dd43835c8e41ffbf29cd792e55

Purchase here.

01bc2cff9f1ed9bd292216e3e8f2ed0c

This one looks to be out of stock (unsurprising), but check back here.

xox E

**Which is fine. You’ll find that when you lounge at home in chic crop tops, entertainment finds you.

Leave a Reply

